Our People

Membership and Collaboration

The Cayuga Lake Watershed Network is a nonprofit organization founded in 1997, today with over 400 members and an active Board of Directors. To protect the 860-square mile Cayuga Lake Watershed, the Network shares strategies and resources with local and regional individuals, experts, community organizations and government agencies.


Steward Hilary Lambert and associate Jennifer Tufano are the staff responsible for organizing, coordinating and carrying out this effort, with support from the Network’s Board of Directors, members, interns and volunteers. 

Hilary LambertHilary Lambert

Watershed Steward, Executive Director

Hilary Lambert has been Steward/Executive Director of the Cayuga Lake Watershed Network since early 2009. A Tompkins County native from the Town of Dryden, Hilary obtained a water resources-focused Ph.D. in geography, and among other jobs and joys has taught at several universities, edited a geography magazine, worked for a Kentucky-based watershed protection organization, is a mom and grandmother, and is a long-time science-based advocate for the environment.

Jennifer TufanoJennifer Tufano

Program Associate

Jennifer has served as Program Associate for the Cayuga Lake Watershed Network since 2015. A native of Cortland County (Tully, NY, specifically), she has spent all of her life around and loving water be it a small kettle lake in Tully to Maine’s ocean shores, from Seattle’s Puget Sound to the mountain lakes of the Adirondacks. Professionally, Jenn has a master’s degree in Higher Education and has worked as an educator, both for universities and historical societies, all her life. Now settled back in the Finger Lakes, Jenn is enjoying her daughters and extended family, wine touring, yoga, and a peaceful life on her 16-acre farm.

Board Officers

Deborah GranthamDeborah Grantham



Mike Duttweiler

Secretary, Vice Chair, Tompkins County


John AbelJohn Abel

Treasurer, Tompkins County


Bill EbertBill Ebert

Vice Chair, Seneca County


Eric DevinEric Devin

Vice Chair, Cayuga County


Board Members

Paul ClossPaul Closs




Doug DixonDoug Dixon




Patricia Haines GoodmanPatricia Haines Gooding




Katherine GrahamKatherine Graham




Penny MapesPenney Mapes Cook




Louise Mudrak



Mark SarvaryMark Sarvary




Neil SchwartzbachNeil Schwartzbach




David WolfeDavid Wolfe




Dan HillDan Hill — Liaison

Cayuga Nation



Bill FosterBill Foster — Liaison

Floating Classroom/Trout in the Classroom



John Dennis — Liaison

CLEAN (Cayuga Lake Environmental Action Now)